Driving Directions
  What We Believe
  Mission & Objectives
  Staff, Administration,   Seminary Board of
  Exchange Program
  Financial Information
  About Springfield
  Student Life


Entrance to AGTS when it was located in the A/G headquarters building.
August 1961

Concept of a graduate school approved by the General Council of the Assemblies of God.

August 1971
General Presbytery decided to implement the graduate school.
May 1972
General Presbytery adopted a preliminary constitution and bylaws and authorization establishing the school at the AG Headquarters in Springfield, Missouri.

August 1972

Cordas C. Burnett (left) elected executive vice president. He asked the Lord to give him three years to establish the school on a firm foundation. He died in August 1975.
December 1972
School was incorporated. The Executive Presbytery was authorized to serve as Board of Directors of the Assemblies of God Graduate School. Thomas F. Zimmerman (right), general superintendent, was elected to serve as president.
June 1973 77 foreign missionaries and candidates were the first students to take summer classes.
One of the first classes at AGTS.
September 1973
Seminary opened its doors to all students as the Assemblies of God Graduate School.
First master’s degrees awarded.
A graduating class.
School first accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the regional accrediting agency of the North Central states.
Sudents sitting outside the A/G headquarters building.
August 1984
School renamed the Assemblies of God Theological Seminary.
G. Raymond Carlson
December 1985
Dr. G. Raymond Carlson, General Superintendent, was appointed president.
H. Glynn Hall
Dr. H. Glynn Hall appointed president.
H. Glynn Hall
June 1990
Dr. Del Tarr appointed president.
H. Glynn Hall
First accredited by The Association of Theological Schools (ATS) in the United States and Canada.
Capital Campaign completed. $6.1 million raised in pledges.
Del Tarr breaking ground for the new AGTS building.
March 1996
Ground breaking on property adjacent to Evangel University. Made possible in large part to a $1,000,000 donation from Michael and Frances Cardone, Sr.
Del Tarr at the dedication of the new building.
July 1997
AGTS moves to new facility on Glenstone Avenue.
Fall 1997
First doctoral degree in Assemblies of God U.S. offered (Doctor of Ministry).
Byron D. Klaus
July 1999
Dr. Byron D. Klaus appointed president.
Fall 2000
AGTS is given adjacent property (the old O'Reilly Gym) on the corner of Glenstone and Division.
  2001   Ten-year accreditation received from HLC and ATS.
dmin June 2001   First DMin degrees granted.
2004   First issue of online Encounter Journal and first book in the Encounter Journal Series published, He Gave Apostles: Apostolic Ministry in the 21st Century.
  2005   First online class.
  2006   J. Philip Hogan Chair of World Missions established
  June 2007   First Doctor of Missiology cohort meets.
July 2009
  First PhD in the AG launched (PhD in Intercultural Studies).
dmiss May 2011   First DMiss and PhD in Intercultural Studies degrees granted.
  Summer 2011   PhD in Biblical Interpretation and Theology launched
Evangel University May 2013   AGTS is embedded within the larger organizational structure of Evangel University. It's name, mission and identity remain the same.
  February 2014   AGTS unveils new hybrid degree–Master of Pastoral Leadership
  August 2015   Master of Theology degree offered.
  Fall 2015   First online degree, Master of Arts in Theological Studies, launched.
November 2015   Dr. Mark A. Hausfeld inaugurated as president.

Updated: Sunday, March 27, 2016 9:41 AM

1.800.467.AGTS • 1.800.467.2487 • Fax: 417.268.1001 • agts@agts.edu1435 N. Glenstone Ave., Springfield, Mo. 65802
Copyright © AGTS. All rights reserved. AGTS Website Policies: Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Linkage Disclaimer